click to go to the home page

resource and shop for tango music

Cuesta Arriba Tango Club

skip to this month's selections

Welcome to our Tango Music Club!

Nothing improves your dancing so much as a good feeling for the special qualities of tango music. The idea of the club was to help you build a library of good tango music, tailored to your own tastes.

The club ran for 8 years, from December 2008 to December 2015, but was forced to close because of the reducing supply of tango CDs, itself a consequence of on-line listening (youtube and spotify) and of course copying.

Select your month

This month's cds (October 2013):

The Masters of Tango - Angel D'Agostino: Café Domínguez
The Masters of Tango - Astor Piazzolla: Bandó The Masters of Tango - Julio De Caro: Tierra Querida  Juan D'Arienzo canta Alberto Echagüe: La Morocha

Skip to the selection form

The Masters of Tango - Ángel D'Agostino: Café Domínguez

The Masters of Tango - Ángel D'Agostino: Café Domínguez

LCDM 2742313

An excellent D'Agostino/Vargas selection with the iconic, later (from 1955) Café Domínguez thrown in for good measure. Since Euro ceased production this is the only way to get this track. Excellent fidelity throughout - a recommended CD, despite one mistake: Un copetín is not the 1941 recording with Angel Vargas, but the 1952 one with Ruben Cané.

Track list

  1. Café Domínguez
  2. Serpentinas de esperanza
  3. Rondando tu esquina
  4. A quién le puede importar?
  5. Caricias
  6. Menta y cedrón
  7. Shusheta
  8. Cuando se ha querido mucho
  9. Rosiata la Santiageña
  10. Palais de glace
  11. La nueva vecina
  12. Mi viejo barrion
  13. La última cita
  14. El poncho de olvido
  15. Mano blanca
  16. Cantando olvidaré
  17. La carreta
  18. Me llaman tango
  19. Madre hay una sola
  20. Transnochando
  21. Gorriones
  22. Traiga otra caña
  23. Adiós arrabal
  24. Tres esquinas
  25. Un copetín

The Masters of Tango - Astor Piazzolla: Bandó

The Masters of Tango - Astor Piazzolla: Bandó

LCDM 2742330

le chant du monde focus on the years when Piazzolla was closest to Paris, opening this CD with the recordings he made in Paris with his string orchestra (1955) (Tracks 1-13). Next come a couple of recordings made with his octet (1957) (Tracks 14-15). This was Piazzolla's most experimental period and the sound is surprisingly fully formed.

The remainder of the disc is more what you'd expect, quintet recordings from 1959-1961.

Track list

  1. Preprense
  2. Marrón y azul
  3. Imperial
  4. S.V.P.
  5. Sentido unico
  6. Estamos listos
  7. Chau París
  8. Bandó
  9. Luz y simbra
  10. Noniño
  11. Guardia nueva
  12. Contrastes
  13. Río Sena
  14. Neotango
  15. Taconeando
  16. Lo que vendrá
  17. Tango del ángel
  18. Tres minutos con realidad
  19. Triunfal
  20. Quinto año nacional
  21. Adiós Noniño
  22. Tanguísimo
  23. La calle 92
  24. Chiqué
  25. Redención

The Masters of Tango: Julio De Caro - Tierra Querida

The Masters of Tango: Julio De Caro - Tierra Querida

LCDM 2742310

A real surprise, le chant du monde have chosen to publish De Caro's final recordings from 1950-1952. The disc includes Mi dolor, Aníbal Troilo and the 1952 Flores negras.

The last four tracks are sextet recordings from 1927-1928. This is an outstanding CD, and narrowly displaces the Reliquias CD "Tangos de Rompe y Raja" for European listeners as the preferred CD for De Caro's 50s tracks.

Track list

  1. Derecho viejo
  2. Moulin rouge
  3. Maipo
  4. Tierra querida
  5. Ojos negros
  6. Flores negras
  7. Recuerdo
  8. Mala pinta
  9. El arranque
  10. Loca bohemia
  11. Todo corazón
  12. Buen amigo
  13. Mi dolor
  14. Chiclana
  15. Boedo
  16. Guardia vieja
  17. De rompe y raja
  18. Mala junta
  19. Aníbal Troilo
  20. El monito
  21. Copacabana
  22. Adiós pubelo
  23. Aromas
  24. Gallo ciego
  25. Quejas de bandoneón

Juan D'Arienzo canta Alberto Echagüe - La Morocha

Juan D'Arienzo canta Alberto Echagüe - La Morocha

Magenta 9101

This is the only CD in-print of D'Arienzo's 1938-39 sides with singer Alberto Echagüe. Juan D'Arienzo's muscular style usually left little space for the singer, who had to fit in as best he could! Whilst Héctor Mauré was the greatest singer to grace the orchestra, the one who most fitted the D'Arienzo style was Alberto Echagüe. The words you might use to describe his style: rough and ready, and canyengue (street-wise) can all be applied to the D'Arienzo orchestra itself, making him the perfect match.

Echagüe had three stints with D'Arienzo, of which the best was undoubtedly the first (1938-1939). Amazingly, and perhaps betraying a certain prejudice, this period is not represented on the Reliquias catalogue or any of the main Argentine labels. So it's left to the small Argentine label Magenta to bring us a cd. It's stuffed to the gunnels with great hits, including the iconic Pénsalo bien and some fantastic milongas.

Track list

  1. La morocha
  2. Cabeza de novia vals
  3. Ansiedad
  4. No mientas
  5. Que Dios te ayude
  6. Retintín
  7. Don Esteban
  8. El baqueano
  9. Pénsalo bien
  10. El irresistible
  11. El vino triste
  12. Melodía porteña
  13. Unión Cívica
  14. Estampa de varon milonga
  15. Milonga querida milonga
  16. De antaño milonga


Your full name
Your membership number
Your email address
Select the cd you'd like cd1

Want to join our club?

Follow this link - and never pay postage again (terms and conditions apply)

© Michael Lavocah / 2000-2018