click to go to the home page

resource and shop for tango music

Cuesta Arriba Tango Club

skip to this month's selections

Welcome to our Tango Music Club!

Nothing improves your dancing so much as a good feeling for the special qualities of tango music. The idea of the club was to help you build a library of good tango music, tailored to your own tastes.

The club ran for 8 years, from December 2008 to December 2015, but was forced to close because of the reducing supply of tango CDs, itself a consequence of on-line listening (youtube and spotify) and of course copying.

Select your month

This month's selection (July 2014):

Aníbal Troilo: 100 years

Tango Masters - Aníbal Troilo
Aníbal Troilo - Yo soy el tango Troilo en RCA vol.2 Tinta Roja (1941-1932) Unicos - Aníbal Troilo

Skip to the selection form

Tango Masters - Aníbal Troilo

Tango Masters - Aníbal Troilo

My new book about Aníbal Troilo is being launched on 11th July, 2014 - the centenary of his birth. In the same style as "Tango Stories", this is the first book about Troilo in English and, as a musical biography of a single tango artist, the first book of its kind in the world.

I am offering this as part of the club because I am really pleased with the book and feel it has a lot to offer to all club members. This offer is only for this month - next month, normal purchase arrangements will apply.

Aníbal Troilo - Yo soy el tango

BMG 659436

Tte Troilo orchestra at its very strongest, with the miraculous driving piano of Orlando Goñi. This is the first of BMG's Troilo series, Aníbal Troilo en RCA Victor. Multimedia CD with bonus material.

Track list

  1. Yo soy el tango
  2. Toda mi vida
  3. Con toda la voz que tengo milonga
  4. El bulín de la calle Ayacucho
  5. En esta tarde gris
  6. Mano brava milonga
  7. Milongueando en el '40
  8. Tabernero
  9. Una carta
  10. Total, pa' que sirvo
  11. Cachirulo
  12. Te aconsejo que me olvides
  13. Cordón de oro
  14. El cuarteador
  15. Guapeando
  16. Maragata
  17. Pájaro ciego

Aníbal Troilo: Tinta Roja (1941/1942)

BMG 659437

This is the second of BMG's Troilo series, Aníbal Troilo en RCA Victor. As 1941 turns into 1942 there are already, in tracks like Malena, clear signs of the slowing of pace - and the increase in sophistication - which so marks the 1940s. C.T.V. is a tour-de-force, with Goñi's piano playing an absolute marvel. Fueye, a tango in praise to the bandoneón, one of the greatest tango recordings ever. The whole cd is at this quality - just wonderful.

Oh yes - there is an error in the transfer of Colorao - colorao, which goes right back to the lp transfer made in the 1970s. See if you can spot it. This track has never been printed correctly on CD outside Japan.

Track list

  1. Tinta roja
  2. Malena
  3. Pa' que bailen los muchachos
  4. Fueye
  5. C.T.V.
  6. Mi castigo
  7. Del tiempo guapo milonga
  8. Soy un muchacho de la guardia
  9. Papa Baltasar milonga
  10. El tamango
  11. Tu diagnostico vals
  12. Cautivo
  13. No le digas que la quiero
  14. Un placer vals
  15. Colorao - colorao
  16. Sencillo y compadre


Unicos - Aníbal Troilo

Unicos - Aníbal Troilo

DK 14142

Rare Troilo recordings from the early 1950s when he was contracted to the Argentine TK label. The only place to get this on CD now that Euro have stopped production.

The sound fidelity is excellent and so are the selections. The version of Quejas de bandoneón is Troilo's best, for my money. Fuegos artificiales is excellent, but even better is Ojos negros, whose arrangement and interpretation is so fresh that it's hard to believe that this tango dates from c.1909. Essential.

This CD is a copy of an LP, and reproduces a mistake made by its ancestor: Track 10, El Marne, is not Troilo at all, but the orchestra of Pedro Maffia in a rare recording from 1959. Far from being a disappointment, this is an opportunity to savour the bandoneón playing of one of Troilo's greatest influences.

in stock :)

Track list

  1. Quejas de bandoneón
  2. Tecleando
  3. Fuegos artificiales
  4. Taquito militar milonga
  5. Bandoneón arrabalero
  6. Que risa
  7. El choclo
  8. La cumparsita
  9. Ojos negros
  10. El Marne
  11. El entrerriano
  12. Callejón


Your full name
Your membership number
Your email address
Select the cd you'd like cd1

Want to join our club?

Follow this link - and never pay postage again (terms and conditions apply)

© Michael Lavocah / 2000-2018