click to go to the home page

resource and shop for tango music

Cuesta Arriba Tango Club

skip to this month's selections

Welcome to our Tango Music Club!

Nothing improves your dancing so much as a good feeling for the special qualities of tango music. The idea of the club was to help you build a library of good tango music, tailored to your own tastes.

The club ran for 8 years, from December 2008 to December 2015, but was forced to close because of the reducing supply of tango CDs, itself a consequence of on-line listening (youtube and spotify) and of course copying.

Select your month

This month's cds (July 2015):

Osvaldo Pugliese - éxitos con Morán y Chanel
Aníbal Troilo - Ché bandoneón (1965) Alberto Castillo - Sus primeros éxitos vol.1 Rodolfo Biagi - Sus éxitos con Jorge Ortíz vol.2

Skip to the selection form

Osvaldo Pugliese - éxitos con Morán y Chanel

Osvaldo Pugliese - éxitos con Morán y Chanel

Reliquias 541703

Fabulous 40s rarities of Pugliese with excellent sound fidelity. There are some little heard tracks of the highly danceable Roberto Chanel, a couple of Pugliese's milongas, and La tupungatina, surely one of Pugliese's most joyful tracks. With so little of Pugliese's best work in print, this CD is just a must.

Track list

  1. De vuelta al bulín
  2. Hacelo por la vieja
  3. El mate amargo
  4. Si sos brujo
  5. El cielo en las manos
  6. Por pecadora
  7. La mentirosa
  8. Y mientes todavía
  9. La tupungatina
  10. Mirando la lluvia
  11. Dandy
  12. Tortazos milonga
  13. El sueño del pibe
  14. Mi lamento
  15. La mascota del barrio
  16. El día de tu ausencia
  17. Silbar de boyero
  18. Mi fuelle rezonga
  19. Bolero
  20. Anda que te cure Lola milonga


Aníbal Troilo - Ché bandoneón (1965)

Aníbal Troilo - Ché bandoneón (1965)

BMG 659454

Volume 19 of BMG's mammoth 26 disc re-issue of Troilo's work. This is leaning towards a symphonic, concert sound but there are still some great performances. The bonus on this CD is Troilo's own voice, speaking about his greatest friend, Homero Manzi

Track list

  1. La cumparsita
  2. El motivo
  3. Galleguita
  4. El conventillo
  5. Racconto
  6. Buenos Aires
  7. Las arrugas de mi frente
  8. Trasnoche de ilusión
  9. Vals del jamás vals
  10. Siempre no
  11. Un tango para el recuerdo
  12. Aquí nomás
  13. Sobre Discepolin y Homero Manzi


Alberto Castillo - Sus primeros éxitos vol.1

EMI 499975

A huge success when he split from Ricardo Tanturi, Alberto Castillo cultivated a relaxed, man-of-the-street style. Recorded 1944-1947

Track list

  1. Yo llevo un tango en el alma
  2. Al final ... en el café
  3. Con un tango asi
  4. No comprendes vals
  5. Pajarito
  6. Menta y cedrón
  7. Corbatita voladora
  8. Estirpe brava
  9. A suerte y verdad
  10. Pincelada
  11. Esta es mi calle
  12. Lecherito del Abasto
  13. Juan Tango
  14. Una menos
  15. Muchachita pobre
  16. El paseandero
  17. Soy como luz
  18. Yo también carrero fui
  19. Viento en contra
  20. Que te digan los muchachos

Rodolfo Biagi - Sus éxitos con Jorge Ortíz vol.2

Rodolfo Biagi - Sus éxitos con Jorge Ortíz vol.2

DBN 499967

This is the second CD on Reliquias of Biagi's iconic singer, Jorge Ortíz. Having placed the more up-tempo "greatest hits" from 1940-1941 on the first volume, this second album might appear like a CD of "also-rans", and indeed that was my first impression when the CD came out back in 1999. Listen closer, however, and one realises that what one has here is rather another side of Biagi. On these sides Biagi doesn't push the beat quite as hard as he capable of doing, and it makes for a more relaxed experience.

The CD opens with Biagi's second recording of La cumparsita with a devastating glosa from Ortíz. This 1942 track was cut in Ortiz's first session after returning from his 6 month excursion to the orchestra of Miguel Caló.

Tangos such as Pueblito de provincia, Callecita de mi barrio, Catorce primaveras and Marcas stand up very well to their more exalted colleagues. If we were better acquainted with this slightly softer Biagi we would find more occasions to play his orchestra at the milonga. Warmly recommened.

Track list

  1. La cumparsita
  2. Copas, amigas y besos
  3. Cuando se ha querido mucho
  4. Cantando se van las penas milonga
  5. Tu melodía vals
  6. Marcas
  7. Callecita de mi barrio
  8. Calla corazón
  9. Soledad la de Barracas
  10. Por un beso de amor vals
  11. Oyendo tu voz
  12. Catorce primaveras
  13. Pueblito de provincia
  14. Sera lo mejor
  15. Bélgica
  16. Cuatro palabras vals
  17. Pinta orillera
  18. Zaraza
  19. Pájaro herido vals
  20. Racing club


Your full name
Your membership number
Your email address
Select the cd you'd like cd1

Want to join our club?

Follow this link - and never pay postage again (terms and conditions apply)

© Michael Lavocah / 2000-2018